Skip to main content
A Stewardship Surprise

Dr. Gaetano Ciancio wins a prestigious national award for transplant surgery mentorship


he American Society of Transplant Surgeons (ASTS) has awarded Gaetano Ciancio, M.D., M.B.A., professor of surgery and urology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, its Francis Moore Excellence in Mentorship in the Field of Transplantation Surgery Award.

“I was surprised when I was nominated. I did not expect it. It was really an honor,” Dr. Ciancio said.

The Francis Moore award recognizes the efforts of established surgeons toward stewardship of junior faculty and fellowship trainees. It goes to one transplant surgeon annually, and is the most prestigious annual recognition given by ASTS. It is named after Dr. Francis Moore, who inspired and guided the establishment of the transplantation program at Brigham Hospital/Harvard Medical School in Boston. Dr. Moore also supervised the world’s first successful kidney transplant.

A career filled with recognition

Dr. Ciancio is also the Brandon Kyle Simonsen Endowed Chair in Transplant Surgery, chief academic and medical officer of the Miami Transplant Institute, and director of the pediatric and adult kidney and kidney-pancreas program. He is a Diplomat of the American Board of Urology, a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a member of multiple professional organizations.

Dr. Ciancio has remained on the Miller School faculty since completing his general surgery and urology residency, as well as a multi-organ transplant fellowship at Jackson Memorial Hospital.

He has received many teaching awards in both urology and transplantation, including Teacher of the Year recognitions from the Department of Urology in 2005, 2011, and 2013. He also was named Teacher of the Year by the Miami Transplant Institute in 2015 and 2016. In 2017, Dr. Ciancio received the Outstanding Teaching Award from the University of Miami’s Faculty Senate.

In 2019, Dr. Ciancio was accepted into the Iron Arrow Honor Society, the highest honor attained at the University of Miami. In 2020, he was awarded one of Italy’s highest honors: Knight of the Order of the Star of Italy (Cavaliere dell’Ordine della Stella d’Italia), conferred by the President of the Republic of Italy Sergio Mattarella.