Skip to main content
Class Notes
Stethescopes for Students Graphic Image

Steve Charles, M.D. ’69, was named to The Ophthalmologist’s Power List 2019. Dr. Charles, who was inducted into the Miller School Hall of Fame in 2003, has developed many of the techniques and devices used by vitreoretinal surgeons worldwide, and has performed more than 38,000 vitreoretinal procedures. He is also an electrical and mechanical engineer with more than 100 patents.

Hedley Mendez III, M.D. ’70, published his memoir, Life in the Balance: Lessons Learned in the ER. The book draws on his 38-year career in emergency medicine and offers insights of the patients, nurses and emergency physicians who find themselves in life-and-death crises. Dr. Mendez retired in 2014 and now lives in North Carolina. His book is available on Amazon.

Richard I. Ridenour, M.D. ’72, and his wife, Leslie, were honored in September 2018 by Marian University of Fond du Lac, Wis., which dedicated its new $13 million Dr. Richard and Leslie Ridenour Science Center in recognition of the couple’s nine years as president and first lady. Dr. Ridenour’s leadership, from 1997 to 2007, was chronicled in the book The Entrepreneurial College President. He is also a Miller School Hall of Fame Award recipient.

George Laramore, Ph.D., M.D. ’76, was honored with the 2019 National Association for Proton Therapy Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes pioneers in the field of particle therapy. Dr. Laramore led numerous clinical trials to test the value of neutron therapy for patients, and was instrumental in bringing proton therapy to the Pacific Northwest. He is considered one of the foremost clinical trialists in particle beam therapy.

Jerry L. Nadler, M.D. ’78, was named dean of the School of Medicine at New York Medical College in Valhalla, New York. An expert in the pathogenesis of diabetes, Dr. Nadler previously was vice dean of research and chair of internal medicine at Eastern Virginia Medical School, where he also served as director of the Strelitz Diabetes Center and a member of a Special Advisory Committee on Type 1 Diabetes with the National Institutes of Health.

David S. Wilkinson, Ph.D., M.D. ’78, who is certified in both anatomic and clinical pathology, is professor of pathology at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, Virginia. Over his 40-year career, Dr. Wilkinson’s research interests have included the study of mechanisms of action of antitumor agents, molecular diagnostics, flow cytometry and automated intelligent microscopy.

Charles Wiener, M.D. ’82, professor of medicine and physiology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, was named president of Johns Hopkins Medicine International. JHMI develops and manages high-impact international health care collaborations and provides medical concierge services for patients who travel from other regions to receive care at Johns Hopkins.

Jonathan D. Reich, M.D. ’92, was recognized by the American College of Cardiology for his role in demonstrating the efficacy of routine pulse oximetry as a screening test to detect congenital heart disease in newborns. Thanks to the research of Dr. Reich and others, in 2012 the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services adopted a recommendation urging all states to include pulse oximetry as part of their standard screenings for newborns. Dr. Reich now works for the Food and Drug Administration.

Adrian Burrowes, M.D. ’00, was appointed CEO and managing partner of CFP Physicians Group, with offices in Orlando, Casselberry and Melbourne, Florida.

Erica James, M.D. ’04, J.D., was named a “Rising Star” by the 2019 Ohio Super Lawyers. Super Lawyers recognizes outstanding lawyers who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement. Dr. James earned her J.D. degree at Case Western Reserve University.

Alumni, share your updates with us.

Please let us know what you’re doing to be included in an upcoming class notes section.

FALL 2019